Skip to content

Dinner and A Garden

May 14, 2013

What does every girl want for her birthday?  Dinner and . . . a garden, right?  I get home from work this evening and my husband has not only made dinner, but he also surprised me with a fabulous little garden plot, complete with a green wire fence and a sandstone border.  He even picked up tomato stakes.

Image

Here’s the thing.  A couple of years ago, I would have never even considered planting a vegetable garden.  It wasn’t even on my radar.  However, two things occurred that changed that for me:  1)  The Wild Ramp opened and opened up my eyes; and 2) I helped my Aunt Madeline can hot pepper mustard and salsa.  Tonight, I was like a kid in a candy store as I planted my first garden of heirloom tomatoes and peppers, all purchased locally at The Wild Ramp.

photo(33)

As I mentioned in a prior post, the tomatoes came from C&C Farms, as did the early jalapeno peppers.  The sweet banana peppers came from Crackerjack Farms.

Image

For dinner, we had Rolling R Farm’s pork bratwurst with a schmear of Whippersnapper’s hot pepper mustard, served with sweet potato fries and grilled Fuhramann Orchards’ asparagus.  We also had a salad comprised of Fuhrmann Orchards’ lettuce and The Potager’s green onions.

Image

The meal was quick and delicious (even more so because I didn’t cook it).  If I had a twitter account, the hash-tag would be #happygirl.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2013 11:07 am

    Happy Birthday Emily! Fabulous birthday presents! Kudos to your husband!

    • emilyjclick permalink
      May 14, 2013 11:52 am

      Thank you Stephanie!

  2. May 14, 2013 1:31 pm

    Awesome birthday present. Isn’t it wonderful having a hubby who can cook and “gets” you?

Leave a Reply

