Skip to content

A Simple Math Problem

May 7, 2013

The other day I was thinking about the positive impact The Wild Ramp has had on me personally and on the community in general. And I thought, what can I do to give back? According to an August 2012 Gallup poll, Americans spend an average of $151 a week on food. That really adds up. To be specific, it’s $7,852 a year.

As I write this post, the following are true:

  • TWR has 91 followers on Pinterest.
  • TWR has 261 followers on Twitter.
  • TWR has 2655 fans on Facebook.
  • There are 52 weeks in a year, and TWR is open each and every one of those lovely weeks.

Have I lost you yet?  No.  Great. This is where it gets fun. It’s time for a simple math problem. Okay, okay, a couple of simple math problems.

  • 1st scenario:  91 Pinterest Followers x 52 weeks x $15/week = $70,980.
  • 2nd scenario:  261 Twitter Followers x 52 weeks x $15/week = $203,580.
  • 3rd scenario: 2655 Facebook Fans x 52 weeks x $15/week = $2,070,900.

untitled

I’ve decided to dedicate a minimum of 10% of my weekly food budget, or $15 a week, to The Wild Ramp. Then I thought, what if each and every social media fan/follower dedicated 10% too? The impact on the local economy and our local farmers would be astounding. Are you up for the challenge? Who will join me?

Emily is a wife, mother, and attorney, living on the banks of the Ohio.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2013 11:07 am

    Emily, what an amazing simple effort for the people who appreciate what The Wild Ramp has to offer. I know I do MOST of my shopping there and only go to the Supermarket to get a few items. I would estimate I spend closer to $60 a week at TWR and only $40 at Kroger or Wal-Mart. It was easy to make this change when I switched from processed foods to whole foods and make the effort to feed my family food that not only I knew was healthier but it sure tastes fantastic too!

  2. May 7, 2013 1:26 pm

    I make an effort to go to The Wild Ramp at least once a week if I’m in town. I would much rather buy my veggies local — fresher, better for the economy, gives the locals jobs in farming. I can’t think of a single reason why not to shop there if they have what you need.

  3. stkappleto permalink*
    May 7, 2013 2:43 pm

    As a local farmer, I thank you who shop The Wild Ramp regularly! I can tell you it has made a huge difference to this local farm! And what comes around goes around. We shop there too, and support other local business’ with our earnings. It is a beautiful thing!

Leave a Reply

