Skip to content

Eating Local In Another Town

April 9, 2013

By: Emily J. Click

 

I’m sure if you talk to the almost 2500 Facebook fans of The Wild Ramp, each one would have a different reason for shopping at The Wild Ramp. When I started going to The Wild Ramp, it wasn’t because I wanted to eat all organic. It wasn’t because I wanted meats that are A-S-H free. It wasn’t because I had a locavore attitude. Going to The Wild Ramp simply offered something different to do on a Saturday morning. It took me out of my mundane Saturday morning laundry routine. As I talk to others and continue to read more and more about the food industry in the United States, my reasons for going to The Wild Ramp are shifting ever so slightly towards those listed above. And, when I don’t go, I miss my “new” Saturday morning routine.

 

I didn’t make it to The Wild Ramp this weekend. I was in Charleston, South Carolina visiting my best friend from law school, Janie. She lives about 20 minutes outside of Charleston on John’s Island. What an amazing weekend. We had a lot of great conversations, some of which were at a cool little local restaurant called the Fat Hen. The Fat Hen serves what it coins as “innovative Lowcountry French cuisine using the freshest ingredients provided by their friends and neighbors in the farming community.”

 

Our server, Sarah, suggested that we start with an appetizer. I heeded her suggestion and tried the soup de jour: Truffle Potato Soup, which was garnished with chives and crème fraiche.

 

soup

 

It was rich and aromatic. I so wished I had ordered a bowl instead of a cup. I sopped up any remaining Truffle Potato Soup with a warm, French baguette. Sarah didn’t steer me wrong on the main course either. She suggested, and rightly so, that I try the meat of the day: local Brownswood Nursery rabbit cooked in a mustard sauce served over fresh, locally grown, sautéed vegetables paired with a glass of Shiraz. I hesitated slightly, because, well, eating a rabbit, was another first for me. I’m so glad I tried the rabbit. I can’t believe what I have been missing out on all these years.

 

Rabbit

 

In addition, the vegetables were cooked perfectly. They were bright, crunchy and flavorful. Each and every one was locally grown: grape tomatoes from Kurios Farms, kale and carrots from Ambrose Farms, and Brussels sprouts from Blackbird Farms.

 

If you are ever in Charleston, South Carolina, and desire a dish for your sophisticated palette, in a casual and inviting atmosphere, drive over to Johns Island and enjoy a plate of local food at the Fat Hen. If you don’t plan to get to Charleston anytime soon, drive over to The Wild Ramp and pick up a rabbit to cook at your next feast.

 

Emily is a wife, mother, and attorney, living on the banks of the Ohio.

One Comment leave one →
  1. stkappleto permalink*
    April 9, 2013 11:16 am

    Eating local has become about taste for us. We didn’t intend to become food snobs, but somewhere a long the way our palletes became accustomed to the fresh healthy taste of food grown right and not shipped 100s of miles. Nothing else tastes quite right anymore.

    Way to go on trying the rabbit! Trying new things seems to be a theme around here these days!

Leave a Reply

