Skip to content

Oil and Vinegar and The Easter Bunny

March 26, 2013

By: Emily J. Click

Webster’s Dictionary has several definitions for the word tradition and one of those definitions is “the handing down of information, beliefs, and customs by word of mouth or by example from one generation to another without written instruction.”

I have never seen more beautiful Easter eggs than those of my Grandma and Grandpa. The colors were rich, deep, melded, blended, and nothing less than spectacular. Like snowflakes, each one had its own characteristics. No two were ever alike. My grandparents’ Easter eggs were tiny little works of art that always set on a bed of fresh moss. Dad tells me that when he was little they gathered moss to make a nest, and my Aunt Laura tells me that “you had to be old enough to be included in the event — you see the Easter bunny really laid those beautiful eggs in the moss nest.”

When I had my daughter, I decided that I wanted to pass this wonderful tradition on to her. So, I asked my Aunt Madeline to share with me the process for making my grandparents’ Easter eggs. The process is really simple, but the end result will absolutely amaze you.

GRANDMA AND GRANDPA’S EASTER BUNNY EGGS

Ingredients:

  • Eggs

  • 1 box of regular food coloring (red, green, yellow, and blue)

  • 1 box of neon food coloring (pink, purple, lime green, and turquoise)

  • Oil

  • Vinegar

Directions:

Boil your eggs. (This year, I actually “boiled” my eggs in the oven. You can find instructions for making hard boiled eggs in the oven on Pinterest.)

Baked Eggs

Sulgrave Farm and Porter Farm eggs soaking in an ice bath.

Sulgrave Farm and Porter Farm eggs soaking in an ice bath.

Next, add six (6) drops of food coloring into each cup.

vinegar and food coloring

Then, boil water and pour into cups with one teaspoon of vinegar per cup. Soak eggs in the desired color for at least three minutes.

Eggs after the first process.

Eggs after the first process.

After all eggs have been colored once, reheat the water/vinegar/food coloring mixture in the microwave for at least two minutes. Next, add about a teaspoon of vegetable oil to the water/vinegar/food coloring mixture. Then, re-dip the eggs in a color(s) that has oil in it. Wait. Let the Easter Bunny work his magic. After your eggs are the desired color, take a rag and rub them with a little bit of cooking oil. That’s it.

Eggs after the second process.

Eggs after the second process.

 Easter Egg Close Up

They turned out perfectly. I think the Easter Bunny’s tail just happened to brush the center blue egg. Happy Easter!

P.S. I made egg salad from The Wild Ramp’s Pinterest Board. Click here to check out the recipe.

Emily is a wife, mother, and attorney, living on the banks of the Ohio.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Madeline Watson permalink
    March 26, 2013 12:21 pm

    Your article was awesome..it made me cry, I miss those times. You are a great Mom and I love it that you are keeping the traditions with Avery!!!

  2. Laura Schafer permalink
    March 26, 2013 12:54 pm

    Emily, Awesome!!!!Grandma and Grandpa would be so proud!! tears fell down my cheek as I read your article – Keep up the great writings!!!!

  3. March 26, 2013 9:43 pm

    Utterly stunning!

Leave a Reply

