Skip to content

Spring are you there?

March 22, 2013

The first day of spring has come and gone, yet as I sit here typing, I see snow flurries from my window.  One year ago, the high temperature was 87 F.  Now that is a little too hot, and arguably worse for agricultural production, but could we please find a happy medium somewhere?

There is hope. Winter can’t last forever. Spring will triumph.

I can hear it. Every morning, regardless of the winter like temperatures, the birds are singing. Their spring songs make doing my outside chores in the cold more bearable. The frogs aren’t waiting either. Every day there is sun the peepers are singing their love songs, and filling our ditches with eggs.

frog eggs

I can see spring if I choose to ignore those pesky flurries in the air. The daffodils are blooming in defiance of the winter like temperatures. The red bud trees are bursting. They will blossom very soon. Spring is here. The weather surely will follow soon.

Until then, I will be patient and try to hold back my spring fever by caring for the seedlings that have been started indoors.

Tomato Seedlings img_1082

Stephanie Appleton is a small farmer in the hills of West Virginia. Find more of her family’s adventures at Adventures in the 100 Acre Wood.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

