Skip to content

Hitch up Your Mule Team

March 15, 2013

You may not have a set of mules in your backyard, but you can sure have their help in your laundry room. I have started mixing my own powdered laundry detergent recently and I really like the results.

Detergent ingredients

 

soapa

 

Gather the following common ingredients:

6 cups Borax (natural laundry booster that helps lift stains and remove odors)

4 cups baking soda (stabilizes the pH and enhances detergent’s effectiveness)

4 cups washing soda(helps to soften the water and remove stains)

2 bars soap

You will need a large mixing container. I had a couple medium sized plastic storage containers with wide mouths which work wonderfully well. You will also need a grater and a measuring cup.

 

Grated Soap

Measure your first 3 ingredients into your container. Next grate, (I use the burr side of the grater because I like the soap very fine), the soap into a bowl and then add to the other ingredients. Place lid on tightly and then shake, shake, shake to mix well. I like to use a colored soap so I can tell when the mixture is well blended.

Find a tablespoon measuring cup and place in your storage container. I use 1 – 2 tablespoons per load. If you are looking for lots of bubbles, you will be disappointed as this is a low sudsing mixture, but I find the clothes very clean and that really is the goal. I also use white vinegar as an added fabric softener in the softener dispenser. Many choices of soap are available at The Wild Ramp. The other  ingredients are available at your local grocery or farm supply store.

If it is a gel type detergent you prefer, Yellow Goat Farm recently began stocking their own unscented, phosphate free, low sudsing laundry detergent at The Wild Ramp. It is sold in returnable glass bottles!

yellow goat detergent

 

Sheri Johnson

Always waiting for warm days, warm nights and warm pie on the table…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Fresh permalink
    March 29, 2013 6:22 pm

    I’m going to try this! I posted about home-made green cleaners recently, but didn’t include a laundry detergent.

Leave a Reply

