Skip to content

Feeling Manipulated

February 25, 2013

In the past year as I have been visiting farms and doing a lot of reading in order to be better informed about the food we eat, I have begun to get more and more annoyed, even angry, about what we are being sold in the grocery stores. I have begun to think that a lot of it is poison. It makes us sick.kidchips

The New York Times Sunday Magazine (February 24, 2013) had an article today that caught my eye. It ran 14 pages on my computer and had me spellbound. It was about how the snack food industry has worked so hard to capture us, to get us to eat sugar, salt and fat. And they knew that they were causing addiction and they knew we were becoming an obese, unhealthy society. And they didn’t care about that. They only cared about how much money they could make.

Read it. The Extraordinary Science of Addictive Junk Food is something you probably have participated in. You can chose now.

The last section is about a guy who was part of that system and tried to get them to stop. He got fired. He is now trying to use the same marketing methods to get us to eat carrots. They have crunch and they are sweet. No fats or salts. carrots

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lina Sorbilli permalink
    February 25, 2013 4:56 pm

    Although I agree with most of your article, I am also a little annoyed in the one comment in your blog that stated that the food industry has caused this country to become an obese and unhealthy society. I have never liked using the word “obese”. I much prefer large/big built or even slightly to overweight, or even leaving that word out entirely and just say an “unhealthy” society in general. We must know by now, that a lot of people can eat & eat and never gain any excess weight. Lucky them, right? Wrong. But yet they are still injesting all of the same so-called unhealthy foods sold in markets and fast food places…I have PCOS since hitting puberty & I am so tired of hearing that only large people are eating unhealthy foods. I eat a lot less than most slim built ppl do. I incorporate alot of fresh veggies and hardly ever consume any meat. But I still maintain weight due to the PCOS…thanks

    • February 25, 2013 6:50 pm

      Lina, I don’t like hearing it either because I am “more” than my weight, but the truth of the matter, especially here in this area, is that we have a lot of people who are overweight. A lot. And unhealthy. And also probably uninsured but that is another story for another blog. Information about healthy eating used to be done at home and in health classes. Now mom and dad don’t cook, many times the family does not even sit down for a meal so snacking is the food of choice. Health classes are not getting into teaching healthy nutrition. So we have to do what we can to talk talk talk about this. The Wild Ramp is working this spring on making farm-to-school connections so the local farms start supplying the local school kitchens. Whether the kids will eat the healthier food is anyone’s guess, but the first step is availability.

  2. February 25, 2013 8:26 pm

    Don’t know if you have access to Netflix, but there’s two excellent documentaries on this topic: “Food Fight” (with Michael Pollan) and “Forks over Knives”. Must watch in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

