Skip to content

Freshly Boiled

February 21, 2013

By: Stephanie Appleton

Spring is quickly approaching. Just 27 more days, not that I’m counting or anything. (ahem.) Everyday we have a little more daylight. We welcome the longer days here, and rejoice when my husband actually gets home from work before it is dark in the evening. The chickens appreciate the extra daylight hours also. They show their appreciation by upping the egg production.

Apparently, my hens are not alone in this show of appreciation. The egg coolers at The Wild Ramp are packed!

Beautiful and Delicious!

Beautiful and Delicious!

Eggs are an economical and nutritious choice for you and your family! And they are so versatile! Emily shared Bacon, Egg, and Toast Cups on Tuesday.  Our Pinterest Egg Board has a wide variety of egg recipes. My favorite way to enjoy eggs is boiled, but I admit rarely boiled eggs up until the last few months.

Have you ever tried to boil a farm fresh egg? They are ridiculously hard to peel. When we first began keeping chickens, I’d boil the eggs as I had for years. I’d be super careful, and take my time, and still end up with half the egg stuck to the shell, and cratered mess to use.

The problem is from the farm eggs are too fresh. Fresh is good, but when you boil a fresh egg the membrane sticks to the shell. That is why they are so difficult to peel, and do not look pretty when the job is done. Older eggs work best for boiled eggs.

So up until the last few months, I didn’t make many boiled eggs even though that is my favorite way to enjoy eggs. If I knew I would need some boiled eggs for Easter or to make deviled eggs for a potluck dinner, I’d mark a dozen and stick them in the back of the refrigerator for a couple weeks before I needed to boil them. Then a couple months ago, I saw  How To Boil Farm Fresh Eggs. It is very simple. You don’t need to add anything to the water. You only need to remember to bring the water to a boil first!

Adding the eggs to water that is already boiling shocks the membrane away from the shell. The result is that your hard boiled egg is easy to peel, and you end up with the entire egg to enjoy!

 

Boiled Egg

Take advantage of the seasonal bounty of eggs! Pick up a dozen or three! What are your favorite ways to enjoy fresh from the farm eggs?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2013 5:02 pm

    What’s the very dark one? Marans?

    • February 21, 2013 5:59 pm

      Not sure of the breeds

    • stkappleto permalink*
      February 21, 2013 9:08 pm

      Copper Marans I believe. Not from my hens, but those are the only ones I know that have that dark of an egg

  2. February 21, 2013 7:30 pm

    What a great hint! Thank you.

    • stkappleto permalink*
      February 21, 2013 9:09 pm

      You’re welcome! It makes a huge difference!

  3. Rhonna Blatt permalink
    February 25, 2013 8:22 pm

    I have now tried this method of boiling the eggs from my hens and they peel like magic. I had given up on boiling my farm fresh eggs and I really missed them. Thanks so much for the hint.

    • February 25, 2013 8:26 pm

      The one year I used the cold water-heat, turn off and sit method I had a horrible time peeling eggs, and that was BEFORE I was getting fresh farm eggs. Stick to the boil the water, cook for 15 minutes, put in cold water method!!

    • February 25, 2013 8:53 pm

      I’d given up too! Happy to share the hint with you!

Leave a Reply

