Skip to content

Picture Perfect

February 19, 2013

By:  Emily J. Click

I love it when I try a new recipe and it turns out exactly like the picture in the magazine.  I should tell you, I’m not a classically trained chef, nor do I even consider myself the cook in my family.  I did, however, take home economics in junior high.  That certainly qualifies me to write a post each week about cooking, right?  Seriously though, I’m simply a consumer who appreciates what The Wild Ramp is doing for this community and who enjoys cooking on the weekends when I have time to experiment with new recipes.

Over the last couple Saturdays, I purchased the following items at The Wild Ramp:  Cooney Creek Farm eggs, Rolling R bacon, Whippersnapper hot pepper mustard (very similar to my Aunt Madeline’s — yum), Snowville milk and yogurt, and Laurel Valley Creamery cheese, among other items.  I also purchased a loaf of rosemary focaccia bread from the River and Rail Bakery.

I don’t know about you, but I love breakfast for dinner.  I found this Martha Stewart recipe on Pinterest:

Bacon, Egg, and Toast Cups

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted (I used olive oil instead)
  • 8 slices white or whole-wheat sandwich bread (I used 6 slices of Rosemary focaccia)
  • 6 slices bacon
  • 6 large eggs
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Lightly butter 6 standard muffin cups. With a rolling pin, flatten bread slices slightly and, with a 4 1/4-inch cookie cutter, cut into 8 rounds. Cut each round in half, then press 2 halves into each muffin cup, overlapping slightly and making sure bread comes up to edge of cup. Use extra bread to patch any gaps. Brush bread with remaining butter.  In a large skillet, cook bacon over medium, until almost crisp, 4 minutes, flipping once. (It will continue to cook in the oven.) Lay 1 bacon slice in each bread cup and crack an egg over each.  Season with salt and pepper.  Bake until egg whites are just set, 20 to 25 minutes. Run a small knife around cups to loosen toasts. Serve immediately.

I followed Martha’s recipe pretty much to a tee. I deviated on a couple of things.  I used olive oil instead of butter, simply because I was out of butter.  And, I left the crust on the rosemary focaccia. This was definitely the right decision. The bread was crunchy on the top, and soft, but crisp on the bottom.  The bacon was chewy and the egg was rich. These little muffins were simple and delicious.  My whole family enjoyed them.

Image from my iPhone

Image from my iPhone

Image from my iPhone

Image from my iPhone

THE CAVEAT:  I think the splendicity (made up word) of this recipe has a direct correlation to the quality of ingredients used.  Rolling R is called platter style which means that it is slab bacon that has been sliced to a desired thickness and stacked together.  I’d call it thick cut bacon with a perfect hint of smoky goodness. River and Rail Bakery’s rosemary focaccia is aromatic and leaves a hint of earthiness on your tongue. Cooney Creek Farm eggs are darker in color and richer in flavor than what you would get at the grocery store, even if you are buying organic. The best way I can describe how rich the eggs are is to tell you that you do not need to add cheese to these bacon, egg and toast cups. Try this recipe now.  You won’t be disappointed.

Rolling R Bacon

Rolling R Bacon

photo(2)

River and Rail Bakery Rosemary Focaccia

Cooney Creek Farm Eggs

Cooney Creek Farm Eggs

Emily is a wife, mother, and attorney living on the banks of the Ohio.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2013 12:44 pm

    Emily, you made me feel hungry! Great writing!

  2. Elaine Click permalink
    February 19, 2013 2:47 pm

    Enjoyed reading Emily’s article very much! I will definitely give this recipe a try. Thank’s Emily!

Leave a Reply

