Skip to content

Meet Sheri!

February 15, 2013

We are so excited to welcome another new blogger. Introducing, Sheri!    

sheri childHello, my name is Sheri and this is me a few years back. This picture was taken on the farm where I grew up . My mother still lives there, makes a garden every year and has many flowers that have bloomed in her yard for decades. I miss the wonderful days of wandering the hills of this farm, canning our own food and sleeping with the windows open. All this leads me to the reason I wanted to join this blog – to share DIY projects to bring us closer to healthy living,  to find small businesses in our community that strive to keep their food products clean and healthy and sharing healthy living practices that utilize organic, plant based remedies and simple adjustments to our busy lives.

I am a mother of two boys, ages 16 and 22, a wife, a gardener, a cook, and a school nurse.  I love to  surf the web looking for great places like The Wild Ramp and to travel to find those spots, to hike in the woods and gardens  and to practice yoga. We live on almost 3 acres and are working to bring as much of our yard into production as possible. Last year we planted three apple trees and several types of berries, we started composting  and of course,  planted a nice little garden. Our garden spot is the old barn lot of the farmstead that stood here about 75 years ago. It is a lovely spot to grow tomatoes, squash, and lots of other yummy vegetables.  We are planning a meditation garden in our back yard to showcase lovely old perennials and to conceal a beautiful  spot to practice yoga outside. This project is a long term labor of love.

Family Pic 12 (72)

Recently I have started researching and purchasing quality, organic products to begin making soap, lotions and other skin care products. I am now perfecting my recipe for laundry detergent – talk about saving some money for all those other things I love to do! I have also started roasting my own coffee beans – what an easy process for a great, organic cup of joe!  I will be sharing these experiences here. I am excited to share information about some great small businesses in our area – sweet spots that love the gifts the land can provide,  creative folks who share their passions with us, and products that bring us smiles and improve our lives just by having consumed them.

Lastly, but certainly not least,  I want to share ways to improve our health by using essential oils, herbs, and foods as sources of remedy for every day ailments-  simple little ways to feel better without taking pills.

herb garden

We are still seeking more volunteer contributors. If you are interested in contributing to The Wild Ramp blog, please email stkappleto@hotmail.com

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 15, 2013 12:35 pm

    Welcome Sherri! Can’t wait to learn new things from you!!

Leave a Reply

