Skip to content

I Ate a Turnip

February 12, 2013

It’s Saturday and that means Avery and I are heading to The Wild Ramp.    I have my cooler and my market bag in tow.

WR cooler    market bag

I don’t have a shopping list, but I know that I want to pick up some Snowville milk and some farm fresh eggs.  I also know that the Potager has delivered several items from their high tunnel, including turnips, collards, pea shoots, cilantro, and parsley.  (I know this because I follow the Wild Ramp on Facebook.)  When I get to The Wild Ramp on Saturday morning, some of the produce is gone, but fortunately there are still some turnips left.

 

So….. I…… get…… the turnips.

I’VE NEVER EATEN A TURNIP.  I don’t know how to make a turnip.  What am I going to do with the turnips?

I typically resort to Pinterest for inspiration.  But, this time my inspiration comes from the Root Soup recipe in The Wild Ramp Cookbook, Taming the Wild Ramp, which is available for purchase at The Wild Ramp, and from Giada.  I happen to turn on the Food Network and Giada is making Cipollini Onion and Fennel Pot Roast.  It looks yummy.  I don’t have a chuck roast or cipollini onions, but I have the TURNIPS and I also have a lovely pork roast from Mil-Ton Farms.  I decide a crock pot meal is in order.

turnips in crock pot  root veggies

 

Pork Roast with Root Vegetables

Ingredients:

  • 2 pound pork roast
  • 1 medium cooking onion (peeled and chopped)
  • 4 turnips (peeled and quartered)
  • 8 small yellow or red skin potatoes (chopped – I left the peels on)
  • 1 bag of carrots (chopped – I left the peels on)
  • 1 tsp of dried rosemary
  • 1 tsp of pepper
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • ½ tsp of dried thyme
  • ½ tsp of garlic powder
  • ¼ c of olive oil
  • ½ c to 1 c of water

Directions:

Mix the dried rosemary, pepper, salt, dried thyme, garlic powder, and olive oil together in a small bowl.  Pour half of the mixture on one side of the pork roast, rubbing it in.  Do the same on the other side of the pork roast.  In a large skillet on medium heat, sear each side of the pork roast for no more than 1 minute per side.  Place the pork roast in your crock pot.  To make sure you get all the flavors left behind in the skillet, toss your vegetables in the skillet for a minute before adding them to the crock pot. Add the vegetables to the crock pot.  Then, add the water.  (The amount of water needed will depend on the amount of fat on your roast.)  Cook on low in the crock pot for 6-8 hours.  Enjoy.

By the way, I liked the turnips!

 

Emily is a wife, mother, and attorney living on the banks of the Ohio.

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

