Skip to content

And So It Goes

January 1, 2013

Last year brought huge changes in my life. Most were uplifting. They brought good health and a lot of positive energy. I was able to learn new skills, introduce new habits, meet new people. My world expanded and life is busy.And so it goes.

One change was painful but necessary and probably possible because of all the good things that were surrounding me. It stood out as a very different aspect and when modification was not possible, the only other thing to do was elimination. It involved another person but most of all it involved the way I thought about myself and realized that no matter how persuasive I thought I was, I was talking gibberish if someone refused to listen or make changes. Their choices need not affect me any longer. And so it goes.

Early in the year, as I was beginning to learn more and more about the food I had been eating purchased from the supermarket, I became pretty amazed and then horrified and then downright angry that the government (FDA) was permitting us to eat things that were strongly suspect to cause illness. As I learned about the effects of pesticides and herbicides, so needed to keep bugs and rodents from destroying crops as they grow, I began to wonder if there was a way to get food that would not affect my health. It seemed an oxymoron that eating some veggies, prepared in a healthy way, could cause me to become ill. And so it goes. KYF-logo

tummy painAs I learned about genetically modified organisms and how some seeds have been produced (and planted since the mid 90s)that combine genetic traits across species in ways nature never intended, I wonder what is next. And when I learned that some of the problems caused by GMOs discovered in animal testing could be what is causing my own daughter problems in her gut I made the decision that our eating HAD to change. And so it goes.

Having this wonderful opportunity to visit the Wild Ramp Producers helps me understand and explain to you the farming methods used. I know now that there are a lot of small farmers in our region (and can extrapolate that there are a lot of similar small farmers everywhere) that use methods that reduce or eliminate chemical use and avoid GMO seed. I can feel safe eating the food I can purchase at the Wild Ramp.  And I can buy organic at the supermarket. I can avoid processed foods almost completely. I can chose carefully when on road trips where we stop to eat and what I select when we do. And so it goes.

logo

As this new year starts I know some of the changes before me. I suspect  that my choices related to food are going to continue to evolve as I learn more. Change is exciting. And so it goes…..

thank a farmer

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2013 3:50 pm

    Wishing you and yours all the best for the coming year! Looking forward to seeing you make the next big change to my “territory”.

  2. January 2, 2013 4:01 am

    Growth always seems to go hand in hand with a bit of pruning – sometimes painful, but a part of the process. Like Gunta, I’m looking forward to hearing about the coming changes as you come over to “our” side (of the continent :)). All the best for 2013.

Leave a Reply

