Skip to content

Birds of A Feather

December 17, 2012

I’ve been pondering something for a while now. In the past year I have been learning a lot about the food we have been eating that is available in the supermarkets and alternative sources for food. I have shared much of what I have read and studied with you through this blog. My question is why do some people act on the information and others don’t?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m the youngest of 3 girls. When I was little my sibs told me I was a pest because I just stuck to something that interested me. Sometimes it was stuff they were doing and they didn’t want to be bothered with me.  I’ve found things have changed a lot (or maybe not) since we became adults, as we are on an even playing field now.  We each have something to offer and I find that they listen to me a lot more now than ever before.

On a family trip in Minnesota. I was NOT impressed by that blue ox, but my sisters liked Babe.

On a family trip in Minnesota. I was NOT impressed by that blue ox, but my sisters liked Babe.

One sister is 4 years older than I am and a nurse. She’s not the kind of nurse who can fix your boo-boo but she is a pro in helping you navigate the emotional and medical horrors of cancer or other life changing disease. She is one of my medical proxies because I trust her to research choices and options and be a terror to whoever thinks they are in charge of my care if she perceives it is something I wouldn’t want.

My other sister is 3 years older than I am and is a medial technologist  She achieved this second career in her 40s after taking time off for a marriage that left her needing to update her resume. So she went back to school and re-invented herself.  I chuckle when this once squeamish girl is now in charge of blood work in a hospital. This sister makes decisions primarily with her heart, finding her pathway through the painful bombardment of today’s lifestyle.

Both sisters deal with the stresses of life differently. The oldest comes home from her current job (which she does not enjoy) and unwinds with a glass or two of wine, dinner overlooking the lake, and a movie. The other comes home from her job (which she does not enjoy), listens to music, reads her new age philosophies, and watches the sun set over the ocean.

Both enjoy eating good food, so it was with pleasure that I sent them emails when I started writing this blog.  One reads it with great interest and often sends me things to check out.  The other might “get around to it someday”. Can you guess which?

The point here is that you can raise people in an environment where they learn about how to prepare nutritious meals and those people can grow to make a tremendous effort to eat a healthy diet, staying away from fats and processed foods as much as possible, and eating their vegetables (and enjoying them!) You can share all kinds of information about a healthy lifestyle. But those people all will have different notions about what is necessary for themselves.

So when this blog introduces a concept about various diets, or GMOs, or organic foods or simply EAT YOUR VEGGIES we are trying to just pass on information that can help you decide what will help you be the best you can be.

The New Year is coming. Time for resolutions. Start thinking about something that will be a meaningful improvement in your life. Something that will help you achieve a health goal. Something that will help you become a better role model to your children.real food

Resolutions are made in the best of intentions. But to make that resolution stick beyond the middle of January, set small goals for every 2 week period of time. Write it down on your calendar that way! If your goal by the end of 2013 is to be eating healthier, research what that actually means.  It might be cutting back on meat. It might be eating breakfast to start your day. It might mean learning to cook or cooking more meals each week to avoid processed foods. It might mean limiting fast food meals. It might mean limiting yourself to foods that your great grandparents would have recognized and not eating anything with ingredients you can;t pronounce.  It might mean trying to search out food that is fresh and where you can meet the growers and understand their farming practices, like the Wild Ramp Market.

But be fair to yourself. Take steps that can work. Don’t assume it will all be achievable if you do it all at one time. But you know what, we can do it, one step at a time. Who’s in?volunteer-hands

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

