Skip to content

Liquid Gold

November 30, 2012

By Brittany Stowasser

It all began with a blender.

I loved the fact that I could throw strawberries, blueberries, bananas, some protein powder, almond milk and even spinach into a blender and make a smoothie. Suddenly, I realized that I could power pack in twice the fruit and veggies I normally took in a day and make it into a delicious snack.

Juicing. A little background, I am very new to the juicing world. I am also a little intimidated by my juicer, in truth. What? I own the Breville and at first glance it’s quite piece of machinery. I couldn’t commit to its pricier counter part, the Vitamix, even though I was very tempted. Baby steps.

I’m learning my way around it because like the smoothies, I’m able to maximize the amount of vegetables and fruits I’m combining and make the super hero of juices! Super Juice! It beats the thought of the days of hand squeezing an orange! There’s no added sugar, no added salt, I know exactly what’s in it. Good stuff in my humble opinion.

strawberry pineapple mint from 30 Days of Juicing website

So after embarking on my juice expedition I decided to watch the documentary “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead.” Joseph Cross, an executive from Australia, has a debilitating autoimmune disease and is on major medication, including steroids. He was 100 lbs overweight and felt like he had tried everything else so under the supervision of a doctor gauging his bloodwork, drank only juice for 60 days. Wow, what perseverance! Crazy even, some may say!

Cross’s take was that eating only micro-nutrient foods (chemical elements required by living organisms – over twenty dietary minerals are necessary for mammals) in liquid green juice form would help his body naturally detox and absorb the minerals he needed to heal his body. Over those 60 days, , within 6 months was off all of his medication and had zero symptoms from his autoimmune disease. www.jointhereboot.com for more information.

Dr. Joesph Mercola on his website www.mercola.com says “Cooking and processing food destroys these micronutrients by altering their shape and chemical composition. Virtually every health authority recommends that we get 6-8 servings of vegetables and fruits per day and very few of us actually get that. Juicing is an easy way to virtually guarantee that you will reach your daily target for vegetables.”

Dr. Max Gerson attested that raw juices being part of a whole treatment plan could help cure cancer. Radical? Maybe! Yet today he has an institute established by his daughter dedicated to his teachings, that has thousands of stories of success using juicing as part of the plan! www.gerson.org and “The Gerson Miracle” is an interesting documentary on Netflix if you get a minute to check it out.

beet orange from 30 Days of Juicing website

Maybe now you are just like me and are intrigued enough to buy the juicer! Maybe the sound of fresh apple juice just sounds delicious enough to make you search online. There are tons of options the Vitamix, the Breville, The Ninja and everyone I’ve met who loves to juice has a very close relationship with and loves their juicer. So now you have decided which new shiny kitchen gadget is your very own. What the heck do you put in it? The Wild Ramp has always in season, local, vegetables and fruits to help you experiment to create liquid gold. Cheers!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2012 8:57 pm

    I agree with you 100%… but I believe a “juicer” doesn’t give you the FULL benefit that you are looking for. Yes I have a Vita-mix and I highly recommend that everyone should have AND use one.

    • December 1, 2012 1:11 pm

      Scott I am glad you enjoy the benefit of the vitamix and have found the value of incorporating juicing into your lifestyle.

  2. November 30, 2012 11:05 pm

    I’ve been tempted for a very long time, but never could seem to decide which one and worried it would just become another appliance buried or cluttering up the kitchen unused….

    • December 1, 2012 1:10 pm

      Never fear Gunta! Turns out like I said above my intimidation is gone now after using it a few times! It is a little more cleanup yet the freshness, taste and how I feel far outweigh the cleanup! If you have a friend who owns one maybe try theirs out first? Happy juicing!

Leave a Reply

