Skip to content

Energy Sources

November 19, 2012

About 15 years ago when I was living in Nashville, my Mom came to visit and we drove to St. Louis to visit her sister. While there, we also took the tour of the Anheuser Busch brewery and, at the end, tasted their (at that time) new energy drink. Together we shared one can and I found that I was more alert for the rest of the day.

From that point, whenever I needed to make a long drive over 3 hours, I bought one can and believed it helped me stay more awake for the trip. I never, however, got into a habit of using energy drinks as a daily part of my diet nor did I use any energy drinks when I had a co-driver for a long car trip. But for many people, energy drinks have become a normal part of their diet.

The FDA recently disclosed a relationship between energy drink use, which has escalated in the past five years, to at least 13 deaths. One day last week the New York Times cited one drink in particular that is being investigated, and followed up the next day with a story that there are three drinks that cause major harm to people.

So, why do people use energy drinks? Some say to help them perform better at some sport. Most just say they need it to stay awake.

So, one step back…why do they need some additional chemical to stay awake?

Lifestyle choices abound. These include sleep patterns as well as diet choices. A recent study indicated that people who consume energy drinks often have sleep problems. Hmmm, that was not exactly surprising. It sets up a cycle that requires more energy drink to be alert when you need to be awake.

So, maybe it is time to wean yourself from this chemical dependency and look to a better diet to help you feel at your optimal performance?  Brittany Stowasser is providing a Friday series on various diets to consider. These diets are not necessarily weight reduction primarily, but often have that benefit as well. Consider how to find better nutrition to help your body function.

The Wild Ramp Market is not an organic foods market but one that provides food from local sources. One of the farms is a certified organic grower, some use conventional farming practices, and most fall into the middle, avoiding chemical usage but not pursuing certification.  What this means to you, the consumer, is that food you find at The Wild Ramp is fresh and nutritious. Most do not have any exposure to extra chemicals so your body does not have to deal with that issue.

I spent last weekend away and ate at some interesting but not “local food” oriented restaurants. I have been eating food from the Wild Ramp for almost all my meals for months now and I noticed, after just three days off that diet, I did not feel well. I was sluggish and my tummy didn’t feel right.

So, a couple of days later I have my energy back and am full speed ahead the way I have gotten used to feeling. How can you change what you eat so you no longer need extra chemical help to function?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2012 11:21 am

    I can’t imagine having one of those energy drinks. Just a single cup of coffee makes my heart rev uncomfortably. It wouldn’t surprise me if (when?) they decide that they can cause heart attacks.

    • November 19, 2012 9:57 pm

      Years before energy drinks we sometimes drank Jolt cola for our marathon drives from CT to TN….but I stopped. It made me jitterty but I still was sleepy.

Leave a comment