Skip to content

Update on the Eggs

October 30, 2012

One egg is conventional….one is free range…..can you guess which is which???

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    October 30, 2012 10:34 pm

    Right now I would bet that the one on the right is the free range…….am I correct?

    • October 31, 2012 1:51 am

      Laura…..once you start eating fresh farm eggs from free range chickens you will not go back.

  2. Diane permalink
    October 31, 2012 12:04 am

    Anyone who has had free range eggs knows the answer- egg on the left. Sorry Laura, the yolk tells the truth- dark yummy orange loaded with vitamins unlike the other egg, the poor hen who produced the pale egg, I feel badly for those girls kept in cages.

  3. October 31, 2012 1:23 am

    Egg on the left is the free range one – no question – deep coloured yolk, white holding together nicely. What a great photo..

  4. October 31, 2012 2:07 am

    I just had a couple of country eggs and they were delicious and beautiful in color and texture.

    • October 31, 2012 10:23 am

      I was myself slow to convince that there was a difference……and now if I eat a conventional egg I can really tell.

  5. October 31, 2012 5:30 am

    Good visual. I can’t imagine why you’d have the conventional egg handy.

    • October 31, 2012 10:22 am

      We recently conducted a taste test between a supermarket chicken and a Wild Ramp Market chicken. Prepared side-by-side in the oven using the same roasting preparations, once the chickens were complete, I was the only one who knew which meat was in Bag A and which was in Bag B. The results of the taste test were interesting. It was about 50-50. The people who preferred the grocery store chicken were experiencing free range or pastured chicken meat for the first time. The most frequent comment was that the supermarket chicken was moister. When I explained that the bird had been given chemicals, hormones and antibiotics during its life and a solution of water and artificial flavors injected into the carcass after processing, several recoiled. But many shrugged, commented they preferred it, and walked away.

      • October 31, 2012 6:37 pm

        Reminds me of why I could never understand people actually eating Wonder Bread. It always made me think of moistened, wadded up Kleenex. But I know of kids who would eat nothing else….. go figure.

      • October 31, 2012 9:01 pm

        I’ve had this comment too about commercial chicken. It’s partly cost talking as well as it being what they’re used to.

        The bread thing that Gunta mentions – my Dad would ONLY eat white bread – he’d grown up in the depression on home made brown bread and grew to hate it. He like the fluffy texture, and he associated white bread with better bread.

  6. October 31, 2012 6:06 pm

    Good one! I was going to guess the deep yellow one. Just makes sense.

  7. November 5, 2012 1:12 am

    It is always nice when someone takes information from the Wild Ramp blog to share with their readers!

Trackbacks

  1. Healthiest Breakfast Foods from the Grocery Store.

Leave a Reply

