Skip to content

Blogger Award

June 21, 2012

This weekend I received nominations by Kathy at lodgehousebandbsomerset for one  Patricia Camburn Zick  for two awards: the Versatile Blogger Award and the Sunshine Award. How fitting that the second’s icon is a plant, a living entity that brightens our world. Now, the chefs out there, let us know if this one is edible.

I am proud of each….the Versatile Blogger award is issued to bloggers who cover a variety of issues. The Sunshine Award is another way to shed light, and I am trying to get the word out about the wonderful options we have for healthier fresher food in this area. .  While the theme of the Wild Ramp blog is to inform everyone about the fresh farm market getting ready to open in Huntington, the subjects covered range from the farm visits and introducing the farmers who are planning to provide good fresh food, the effort made by  people who volunteer to put this market together, and the issues about making healthy food choices.

These awards are great because they introduces you to other blog that I value and follow.  To accept these award, there are a few rules that one is to abide …

3 RULES:

1. Thank the person(s) who gave you the award.   PC, thanks so much for being such a loyal and active follower of my blog. Your insights are thoughtful and I enjoy what you present as well. Kathy, you are an ocean away and yet prove that for people interested in thoughtful consideration of healthy farm food, the quest is universal.

2. Tell 10 things about myself:

  • I have lived in many places around the country-grew up in New Jersey; lived in Nashville and Memphis, Tennessee; discovered that Pittsburgh is a hidden gem; enjoyed 14 years in Connecticut; spent 6 months exploring Colorado; and now five years in West Virginia. This moving around has taught me that while there are regional difference, basically people all over are the same, with the same dreams and needs.
  • I have worked many jobs in many fields: judicial administration for the State of Tennessee, urban planner for an engineering consulting firm, real estate sales and appraising, local coordinator for an international au pair program, patient counselor in a laser vision center, admin for the Department of French & Italian at Vanderbilt University, practice manager for a financial advisor, and now, book reseller, custom trip planner and apparently blogger extraordinaire. *G*
  • I’ve been traveling since I was 3 years old. I’ve been to all 50 states, a bunch of Canada, and overseas as well. I love to explore areas not typically seen by tourists.
  • I have three terrific kids. Dan is 29, Lisa will be 27 this summer and Sam is 17. Each is different and has been since the day they were born. I’ve done what I could to give them the life skills to be able to walk their own pathways and oh boy! The adventures I get secondhand! (You’ll get some idea if you go to my Custom Trip Planning blog.)
  • I met my husband in a chatroom where he was one of over a hundred people who formed an amazing community. People from all over the world, all walks of life, all ages and all levels of education found and enjoyed our commonalities.
  • I am highly distressed that my allergies will no longer permit us to have a dog.  As much as I loved my animals, we had to make that choice for MY health. I cannot truly understand the people who tell me I was wrong. Perhaps they need to struggle to breathe for a bit.
  • I have high energy and enjoy staying busy. I only watch TV when I iron or fold laundry and do not know anything about who is winning whatever competition has half of the US glued to their sets.
  • I love to read. It is my escapism. I set aside 30-60 minutes a day to read before bedtime as a way to “change my channel”, to unwind from the day.
  • I enjoy people. I love to hear their stories. I think everyone has something to offer if only they know how to relax and speak up.
  • I talk too much. Get over it.

3.  Pass the award on a bunch of other versatile and sunshine-worthy bloggers. check thumb2 The Sunshine Award

  • The Taste of Oregon  is presented by two foodies, Charles  and Victor, who have extensive cooking and chef experience. They share places to find amazing foods in the state of Oregon, not only wonderful restaurants, wineries and breweries, but also where to find fresh ingredients in both markets and in the wild. Can’t wait until they take us digging for razor clams on the beach or searching for truffles.
  • 100 Days of Real Food, written by Lisa and Jason Leake,  challenge everyone to switch for 100 days to real food. In other words, stop with the highly processed pre-packaged pop in the microwave stuff that you enjoy, and commit to slow food, real ingredients. They help with lots of ideas and recipes and information for making good choices.
 
 
    • Intermittent Farm Report is a blog with periodic posts that describes life on a dairy goat farm in Roane County, West Virginia. Shelley and Don Hutchinson are the age where most people retire and relax, but I saw no evidence of that when I visited.
  • Kathy and Neil Arnold run Lodge House B&B in England and Kathy also maintains a blog where she shares her experiences.  It is enlightening to read that her issues, an ocean away, are not any different from ours. The world can be a small community, if only we reach out to each other.
 
 
 
  • PC Zick presents Writing Tips, Thoughts and Whims  and is a thoughtful woman who offers wonderful encouraging comments. She is actively working on several projects, including a new novel.
  • Littleyurtontheborderlands  is written by Karl, who is, with his wife and dog, beginning a homesteading life in a huge yurt in the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont (for those of you who don’t know, that is the area very close to the Canadian border but not near Burlington). His adventures are written with a sense of humor, but I am concerned about the way his beard is growing.
  • Orizaba Farm has not posted recently but I hope she gets back to it again soon. Her insights as a farmer are important for the rest of us to read and understand.
  • I subscribed to Everywhere Once  quite a while ago. Brian and Shannon are living an interesting adventure.  With careful planning, they quit their jobs, sold their home, and then started traveling first in an RV around the US and then took some time to backpack through Central America. A recent post entitled 6 Life Changing Things You Can do for the Price of an Average U.S. Wedding is something people should read and consider.
  • A close friend, Carol Sosa, had the guts to leave California and head to Croatia where her parents emigrated. She had visited several times as a young adult and something felt better there. Essence of Dubrovnik  presents her journey learning how to fit in, not really as an ex-pat, but as a full time resident who expects to live there the rest of her life.  She offers wonderful, behind the scenes intimate tours for people who may be there as a cruise stop. 

Take some time and go check them out!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2012 1:07 am

    Congrats Beth, you are a delight to read. I look forward to your posts of The Wild Ramp!

    • June 21, 2012 1:11 am

      Thanks Amy. If you have any suggestions of topics you would like me to present, let me know.

Leave a Reply

